Thank-you water, sky, river.

This past weekend I went home to the river house with Kelly, one of my closest friends, and third sister. I’ve been having a bit of a tough time and the weekend was just what I needed. We sat on the dock in the sun and talked about life and dreams, loss and grief.

It was very healing to be together on the water.  On Friday, before the storms came in, we went skinny dipping. It was wonderful.  The water on my skin made me love myself and this body that is me.  I felt so relaxed and calm as we swam against the tide, swimming just hard enough to stay in one place in front of the dock.  On Saturday we swam across, my first time this summer, and that felt good too.  Stretching my muscles, holding my breath to swim underneath, fighting the current, and finally gingerly putting down my feet in the soft, silty mud on the other side.  Oh, how I love the Choptank.

Thank-you water, sky, river.  And thank-you, Kelly.

3 comments

  1. Thanks for the comment on my post about my daughter’s letter writing skills. I LOVE this picture. I’m sorry you’re having a tough time, and I’m glad I was able to make you laugh.

    Happy to meet you!

    • K, Thanks for such a kind comment! I’m glad you like the photo, and am also happy to meet you. I’ll be sure to say hello again as I continue to read your blog and the adventures of your little ones. 🙂 I hope the school choices work out for you.

Leave a Reply

