2013 Goals/Resolutions

I know I am about a month behind with this, but I finally wanted to get to my goals/resolutions/hopes for 2013.   Looks like it is going to be an awesome year!

1. General Health and Happiness

Be in the sunshine and outside as much as possible; walk to school; run (almost) every day (found a running buddy the other day which will help with this!); go hiking and camping; make sure I keep writing in my journal daily; keep up connections with friends and family; get my 9 hours of sleep a night; shift my sleeping schedule to 10 pm-7 am; drink lots of water; eat fruits and vegetables; learn to enjoy cooking more; meditate; try to let go of my anxieties; go to dr/dentist for check-ups.

Most of these are things that are already a part of my life, and aren’t really changes, but rather things I want to keep up, as I know that they have a positive impact on my health.  One thing that is definitely new is shifting my sleep schedule; which has been easier than I thought it would be.  I guess I am getting old.

2. Ending Bad Habits 

Picking my skin and biting my nails.

This is resolution I have been making for years, and continue to fail to keep.  2012 was no exception, however I would say that I probably did a better job of keeping my skin healthy than I have before. I have implemented a variety of strategies to help me stop picking–such as playing with putty while at my computer and in class, chewing gum, and enlisting friends to help me notice when I am doing it.

3. Change it Up: The Body Edition 

Cut my hair! Been wanting to do this for a while, and finally, two weeks before the new semester I cut off nine inches.  It is shorter than it has ever been, a little past my chin and now has layers.  While I was initially not sure about the style, I immediately loved the length, and have come to love the whole thing.  I don’t know why I didn’t do it before! I will definitely be experimenting with more short styles in the future.

Get contacts again after 3 years.  This is in the process of happening as we go back and forth with trials, working to get the astigmatism correction right.

Get my ears pierced. I pierced them when I was 16, they got infected and closed up.  I keep saying I will get them done again, and this year I am determined to do it.  The beautiful sand dollar earrings I got for Christmas are a good incentive.

4. Academic Goals

Present at conferences (two abstracts submitted; one more to go!); finish my IDP; finish my major fields and my proposal.  My ultimate goal is to be ABD by 2014, which may not happen–but is a goal worth shooting for! Get a journal article published?

5. Travel and Adventure Plans 

I am saving up as much of my extra baby-sitting money and dog-sitting money as possible in order to be able to afford another trip to England this summer! I will be heading over in late spring/early summer to visit family, and also to attend a conference where I will hopefully be presenting a paper! (I will hear back next week). Then in June I will be heading to Hawaii, courtesy of my friend who will be doing research there and would like me to watch her kids in exchange for the plane ticket over.  It will be hard to be away from home and my beloved for 7 weeks (I will only have a day between trips) but I am looking forward to both trips. It’s going to be a lot of fun!

One comment

Leave a Reply

